Several Pieces of Poetry

Moment Of Clarity At A Diner 04/08/08

3 slices of thick yellow texas-toast French toast, and
long bacon strips and 2 eggs over-medium on a separate plate
altogether, and
a kind-of shitty cup of diner coffee (cream and sugar) and a book:  Last
Exit To Brooklyn.
This breakfast-for-lunch costs money, I realize.  This

for That. 4 bucks for the French toast, 4 for the eggs and bacon, probably
a dollar for the coffee.  Plus tip.  I pour the syrup from the sticky glass pourer and it
makes sense.  The way things
are.

ABYSS

The three-pronged electrical
outlet calls my name.  I stare
at it, knowing full well the dark power
it holds, and yet I desire
right now -above all else- to
stick a metal knife into
one of this Sirens’ slotted
openings.  I lean forward
so slightly, staring into the
fiery gap.

CHALKBOARD

See how the professor taps the end of the worn nub of chalk, its high-hollow sound,
as he emphasizes the main point:  Ars Poetica
“Pay Attention to this phrase,” the tapping seems to say, tap tap tap, this is important!

I am young and have no reason to cling to the traditions of my grandfathers,
but I must confess that I greatly prefer chalk and board to
computer and projection.

The grainy-smooth sound of that white stubby stick
crudely scratching that green (or black) palette is
Romantic!

The chalk belies everyone’s idiosyncrasies, their fingerprint of style;
lays bare their very thoughts as sewing string pulled out and out and out as the spinning
spool unravels itself there before you long and looping and marvelously mangled.


About this entry